forthebook's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Silver Linings

Silver linings about this break up:

My friends are wonderful, supportive, selfless people. I know they're sad for us, for me. I know it was shocking for them and they want to understand it (as do I). And every single one of them who had an extra room in their house or a couch I could crash on immediately offered it up with no expectations, no question about money, no need to explain, no time limits. These are people that I've know for more than half my life and others who I've known for less than a year. All of them offered themselves for drinks, their shoulders to cry on, and unasked for hugs that I may not have enjoyed but immensely appreciated. They texted and bought lunches and promised to keep their eyes out for cheap rentals. I'm not religious, but the phrase "blessed" definitely comes to mind. I have no idea how I got so lucky to surround myself with so many generous souls.

All of this prompted me to consider therapy again. I should have gone back six years ago when everything last kind of imploded, but never did. It was scary (it still is scary). I think I like the one I'm seeing tomorrow though. I'm a better judge of character and I know more about what kind of support I'm looking to get out of this experience. Or at least this is what I have been telling myself to keep motivated. I made a list of issues today in preparation. And it was long. And complicated. And scary. But I am tired of being broken. And I want to be whole, if I ever was.

8:19 p.m. - 2018-10-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: