forthebook's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

long distance

It's been four years since I've attempted a long distance relationship. Compared to the last time, I feel a lot more grown up about it but less secure. Isn't that what age really brings to us though? The doubts of past hurts and the knowlege that possibilites really are endless?

Last time I did this, I was sixteen and half in love with some boy going away for college. This time I'm a college student who happened to fall for a boy pursuing his own education and dreams just as far away. I'm not a different person but my approach on the situation has drastically changed.

I don't feel as naive or disillusioned about the romantic nature of a long distance relationship. I never got that the first time. I didn't receive long letters or hours of phone calls or flowers sent to me from across the continental United States. It made me afraid to even consider pursuing something like that again. Yet I threw myself into the situation knowing that it could finish us off before we even really got started. I knew the first guy for a year and a half before he left and even though we were friends for much of that time, we had a very strong connection. This new guy, I've been seeing him a month and he's been my boyfriend for less than a week. I'm paranoid as hell about this.

Still I'm optimistic about this one. I've already gotten four phone calls and planned a trip to meet up with him in Vegas during Thanksgiving.

Hopefully things will go well.

9:52 p.m. - 2004-09-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: